Thomas Rickert appointed to the EPDP team

ISPCP leadership appointed the constituency’s members to the EPDP team

On 17 May 2018, the Board of the Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers (ICANN) adopted the proposed Temporary Specification for Registration Data of generic Top-Level Domains (gTLDs).

This was an interim measure to bring existing WHOIS obligations in line with requirements of the European Union’s General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR). This has, in turn, triggered the obligation of the GNSO Council to undertake an expedited policy development process (EPDP) to create Consensus Policy on the subject matter of the Temporary Specification.

Being one of the Commercial Constituencies within the Non-Contracted Parties House of the GNSO, on Friday afternoon the ISPCP leadership appointed the constituency’s members to the EPDP team. 5 Expressions of Interest have been submitted to fill 2 member seats and 1 alternate.

The ISPCP leadership team found consensus on the following nominations:

  • member: Thomas Rickert, eco – Association of the Internet Industry
  • member: Esteban Lescano, CĂĄmara Argentina de Internet – CABASE
  • alternate: Fiona Assonga, Technology Service Providers Association of Kenya (TESPOK)

eco appreciates the decision by the ISPCP leadership team regarding all nominations. The decision also gives eco the opportunity to actively contribute to the EPDP. With the publication of the “eco Domain Industry Playbook” the eco Names & Numbers Forum and its members have already proven their broad expertise in how to make the domain industry GDPR-compliant.

The EPDP must be completed within 12 months of the implementation effective date (25 May 2018) of the Temporary Specification. During ICANN 62, substantial time was devoted to developing the terms of the EPDP charter, including the composition of the EPDP team and its scope.

Thomas Rickert